A journey into the world of digital SLR (dSLR) photography……

Back on 20 December 2007 I made something of a major purchase in my life. Monetarily it wasn’t a huge expenditure, but considering where I am in life at this time job-wise (none), fiscal-wise (see previous), etc. it was a major purchase. And it was a purchase that spawned other purchases and will, no doubt, spawn even more purchases into the foreseeable future. In case you hadn’t already figured it out, which I hope you have, I purchased my first digital Single Lens Reflex camera (hereafter called dSRL for the sake of simplicity).

My journey has thus far been rather quiet. I confess that many weeks went into the purchase process and there was much in the way of hand-wringing before I finally made a……well….final decision. The other day I realized that this sort of journey, which not only deals with photography, but with the technology of modern digital photography, might make for an excellent blog. Mind you, the idea seems excellent, but I do not promise that the blog will be such. I will always be direct, honest and convey my thoughts, opinions and such regarding this trip. But let me make clear that I am not, in any way, trying to convey to anyone that my particular opinions expressed about any hardware or software are anything more than my in-expert opinion.

So there it is. A blog about my venture into digital photography with all the hardware, software, techniques, trials and tribulations that will no doubt come from such a new venture. And now I shall close this introductory posting and offer my first posting directly related to this journey: the decision process for making my first dSLR purchase.

Are you excited?

2 thoughts on “A journey into the world of digital SLR (dSLR) photography……

  1. I am excited, yes indeed, for its similar in intent if not in form to what I’ve also only recently started doing. Namely a blog intermittently (as the mood takes me) documenting my disasters, my experiences, my thoughts (and my changed thoughts) as I tentatively set foot into the world of photography.

    For me, the whole thing started simply because I find it difficult to take myself too seriously. Consequently, seeing the funny side of my mishaps, I quite enjoy relating them to others.
    And it occurred to me that a fairly light-hearted, informal, almost anecdotal account of a person’s photographic journey from the start might conceivably be of some interest to others, mainly other beginners.
    For I’m sure there must be others like me who are a tad intimidated by the “professional photographer” but would nevertheless like to discuss thoughts and experiences with others, and would appreciate hearing of others’ experiences.

    And there’s the added bonus that by bringing some sort of order to my thoughts and having to articulate my experiences I may finally start learning about this incredibly addictive pursuit… and of course make a few new friends šŸ™‚

  2. Yea! A new friend who has already been experiencing the trials and tribulations that I will no doubt encounter.

    And those pros had just better watch out. We have inexperience on our side so we don’t have any preconceived notions of what we should be doing; we’re free to screw things up and call it “art”!

Leave a Reply

