Pain, suffering and steroids

While I have posted some new photos (see them here, here and here) I haven’t exactly been tearing it up photography-wise for the past two weeks.  Truth be told I have been in no small amount of discomfort and pain for the past two weeks.  I won’t bother with the details, but let’s just say that walking has become difficult, painful and unpleasant.  I did make a trip to my doctor and he did his voodoo, but things aren’t a whole lot better.

To make matters worse one of the prescriptions was a short blast of steroids (to help reduce inflammation).  While I have taken prescription steroids a few times over the years I have never experienced such a reaction as I have this time.  Mood swings.  Constantly angry and nervous.  I feel like a bomb ready to go off at any moment.  Between my bum leg, sore back and these feelings of death and destruction you can imagine I haven’t felt particularly compelled to be expressive through photography.  Shit….I’m concerned I’d throw my lovely, lovely Canon 40D across the room in a fit of rage.

However, there has been an upside to this situation.  It has given me time to pause and consider (well, reconsider actually) where I want to go with this whole photography thing.  I have found myself caught up in competing desires and interests and I think I need to sit back, relax and just take pictures of those things I wish to take pictures of.  No more pressures.  No more need to feel like I’m doing something.  I’ll take out the camera and snap pictures when it suits me.  This is all I really ever wanted anyway, but I pushed myself into making it into something more.  I think I felt the need to pump-up my expectations because I was spending so much cash on this camera kit.  When you’ve been unemployed as long as I the extravagance of buying a dSLR almost screams “Now do something special with it, you twit!”

Oddly enough I have always enjoyed just snapping pics with the digital point-n-shoots because I was doing exactly what I wanted; snapping pics of things that make me happy.  If I’m not happy then what is the point of taking pictures in the first place?

And on an aside, I took advantage of the High Dynamic Range functionality built into Capture One to fix-up some of the pictures of the birds.  It’s a very handy feature and I’m glad I found it.  I recall that the Nikon D300 came with this feature built-in to the camera, but considering the software was free and the D300 was markedly more expensive I think I got the better deal.  Although I still love that D300….

2 thoughts on “Pain, suffering and steroids

Leave a Reply

