94 days later….

When my Canon 70-20mm f/4L USM IS lens arrived back in January of this year I was totally down with it.  Gorgeous lens.  Big lens.  Heavy, but not too heavy lens.  But it was missing something.  Something I had seen with other larger Canon lenses; a tripod mount ring.

I wasn’t certain what was the purpose for a tripod mount ring so I did a bit of reading and quickly realized that: (1) a tripod mounting ring makes good sense for a longer and heavier lens, and (2) the Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM IS lens doesn’t come with one.

Not certain if this was important I found some online reviews of the Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM IS lens (I just like typing “Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM IS, so please for give me) and each mentioned that no tripod mount ring was included and that in the opinion of the reviewer the lens should come with one as it was just long and just heavy enough to warrant a tripod mount ring.

Being the dutiful consumer I rushed to the online Canon e-store and searched for the appropriate Canon tripod mount ring as apparently there are more than one style from which to choose.  I found the correct model and then turned to an online vendor whose price structure is very favourable for the dSLR consumer (you may find them here).  I located said item and on 30 January, 2008 I placed my order for the Canon Tripod Mount Ring, style AII (B).

It arrived by post today.

That’s 94 days later.

Now, before you get all up in my grill and tell me what a crappy company is here, keep in mind that it was on back order from the manufacturer.  About two weeks ago, tiring of the long wait, I contacted the Canon e-store by telephone and explained that I had ordered the Canon Tripod Mount Ring, style AII (B), from an authorized vendor and that they had been unable to deliver said part as it has been on back order for all these weeks.  “What gives?” I queried.

The customer service person placed me on hold and upon returning informed me that the Canon Tripod Mount Ring, style AII (B), was on back order for Canon as well because it was a brand new part and was a ‘bit behind’ in the manufacturing process.  However, Canon anticipated delivery would be made within four weeks to Canon and then they would, in turn, deliver to all the various vendors who had the item on back order (hopefully including mine).

And thus ended the saga of Mark’s ordering of the Canon Tripod Mount Ring, style AII (B), which SHOULD have been included with the Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM IS lens in the first place.

Clearly it’s time to order more shit.

2 thoughts on “94 days later….

  1. Hmm… forgive me for being a bit obtuse here but doesn’t that mean even more time devoted to set-up before you get to snap those blue jays?

  2. Yes it does! I think Mother Nature and the blue jays require me to work harder if I can expect to have any hope of capturing them in little ones and zeros.

    I suffer for my art, sir.

Leave a Reply

