Flickr again!

Hey all. While I didn’t think I would be posting new pictures to Flickr (or writing in WordPress for that matter) while my inlaws are in town, it seems that it is a far safer thing to do when compared to being engaged in conversation with them.

Oh well.

Over the past few days I’ve been looking over pictures from other folks (hi Tam and Bri-n!) and I’ve come to two inescapable conclusions: (1) I suck, and (2) that’s okay

2008-05-11 (19)

It’s okay because I now fully and truly realize that I simply enjoy taking pictures. Maybe I’ll get lucky and take one that is really great, but for the most part I simply enjoy the process of taking pictures. And I’m going to continue in this fashion and then share them with the world for what it is worth.

Now doesn’t that make you happy?

11 thoughts on “Flickr again!

  1. Whats there to “suck”? Each Picture has its own way, and when someone takes a picture, there is always a reason! There are a few representation types – (1) as is – like we see in journalism (2) well composed – more like natures, still life, landscapes etc. But as long as you love to take pictures, its all good! I tried to shoot nature with a lomo and you should have seen the expressions on “professional critics”. But it was fun and I did a whole lot of it.

    Cheers!
    Ranjay
    http://www.promediablog.com/

  2. You now what the great thing is about amateur photography. There are no obligations, no “rules”, only freedom, fun, and creativity. When you enjoy it, than that is the most important thing! And those make me happy too!

  3. Is that your picture or someone else’s? I really like it. You’re pictures aren’t that bad, it takes practice to become amazing. It also helps to take ALOT of pictures and pick like 3 or 4 out of of 100.

  4. It’s my picture. I only put up my own images. And oh how I so agree with you that so few pictures are really great. But like I said in my post, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I may never enjoy the skills needed to take really great images, but I so enjoy just taking pictures and looking through them that I’m trying to focus on my enjoyment and less on what I hope will come of it.

  5. Well, that makes me very happy. Looks like at last you’re ditching all preconceived notions of what photography should be and starting to simply snap pics cos its fun.

    Excellent news!

  6. I like your pics. The one of the blackbird is especially lovely. Hey, we wouldn’t be here if we didn’t enjoy what you have to show.

  7. HEY!!

    I don’t think you suck at all. I love your photos! My photos aren’t all that fabulous (quality wise). I just enjoy taking photos of things I find interesting. I take lots of nature photos; i get lots of pleasure from doing so.

    So, don’t think you suck, cuz you don’t!! I like your photos!! And your blog, you are fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

