Suck it, ya’ll!

Okay…okay…okay. I said I wouldn’t be posting for a couple of weeks, but here I am posting my second entry since I made that statement. So sue me. I’ve had a slight change in plans and as such I have a few free hours this weekend in which to do things….

Like this!

IMG_0046

Isn’t it fucking sweet?!?!!!! The Canon 100-400mm f/4.5 – 5.6L IS USM lens. This baby rocks like Kiss in a 1978 concert in Detroit! I cannot wait to get this baby out in the field (or back yard) and start snapping up those pics of squirrels, cardinals and blue jays as if I were standing right on top of them. (because for my money you simply cannot have enough photos of squirrels, cardinals, blue jays, chipmunks, etc.)

Fuck yeah!

But first: props. Props to the wife for letting me do this. It wouldn’t be happening if it weren’t for a few pertinent facts: (1) we’ve paid off a bunch of bills, (2) I wrangled twelve months of interest free financing, and (3) I didn’t get this lens for my birthday, for a bunch of reasons, like she had wanted to do in the first place.

Second: “Suck it, ya’ll!” For those folks who do not call America their home this title may sound a bit odd. I don’t know that it translates at all to other nations, including our special friends in dear ol Blighty. Basically it’s my way of saying “Hey look! I got this really cool new bit of glass for my kit! Isn’t it fantastic?! Don’t you wish you had one?! Look how cool I am!” but with a big smile on my face because it’s all a big joke. It’s all meant to be fun.

But suck it anyway!

6 thoughts on “Suck it, ya’ll!

  1. DAMN MAN!! You could stand in your front yard and photograph the birds, squirrels and chipmunks in your back yard! he he. Ok, so, you need to photograph the moon too. You’ll be amazed at how wonderful the craters look at 300 mm….er, 400 mm for YOU. GRRRRRR πŸ˜›

    In all seriousness, congratulations on your lens. You’ll love it!

  2. HA HA HA, sorry I just noticed the tag meatballs. I need to start putting crazy tags on my blog posts.. lol

    I think I’ll do that just to see who shows up at *itswhatyousee.wordpress.com* via a crazy tag. πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you to one and all. I’ve been thinking real hard about the moon pic Tam. I’m going to get to it as soon as I can.

    Let’s just say that an oddball tag is my way of screwing with folks looking for stuff.

    So Kym got her new kit! I’ll have to swing by and check it out!

  4. true, never enough squirrel, robin and blue jay pictures. and yes, i am more than a bit envious of your new lens.

    you’ll be able to take black mail shots of the squirrels now!

Leave a Reply

