“ISO 800” or “How I Learned to Love Hasenpfeffer”

As as regular commentator recently wrote “…moan…moan…moan….”  Yep.  Bitch and moan.  Moan and bitch.  That’s me.  But that’s photography too, isn’t it?  I mean, if it wasn’t would you be here, reading this crap?  No!  You’d be out taking pictures and posting them to Flickr and receiving comments of adoration from folks all across the globe.  Instead, you’re here commiserating with me, aren’t you?  Yep.

Sure.  We all (including me) have good moments with our cameras.  But so far it’s mostly one long series of heartaches and pains.  Money spent.  Time spent.  Blood, sweat and tears spent.  And for what?  Two…three…maybe five good pics out of a hundred?

Case in point:  this evening I walked outside to my car, which was parked in the driveway of my grandmother’s house here in Wisconsin along beautiful Lake Michigan.  As I reached my car door I noticed a nice sized and handsome rabbit sitting in the back yard.  Just sitting there.  Minding his own rabbit business.  He didn’t move as I opened my door, but I stopped and thought “I should take a picture of this nice looking rabbit,” so I closed my car door (quietly) and moved away (slowly) and returned into the house to retrieve my camera, which was located near the door.  I was gone….maybe….twenty seconds.

Upon returning to my car the rabbit was gone.  But not completely.  He had gone under the chain link fence and was now sitting in the back yard of the house directly behind my grandmother’s.  So here I was, camera in hand, with a nice looking rabbit on the OTHER side of the fence.

Damn it.

Typical.

But this time I had the last laugh…I shot some images anyway.  So there.  And when I get back home (sometime later this week) I will busy myself with transferring all the images I have been taking onto the computer and will post some to Flickr and any upload will include at least one image of a nice looking rabbit shot through a chain link fence, which will look totally and completely stupid.

Suddenly that bull semen extraction thing is really beginning to look like a good idea after all.

7 thoughts on ““ISO 800” or “How I Learned to Love Hasenpfeffer”

  1. How come your misery always makes me laugh? I never thought I was a cruel person before but you bring out the snicker. Suddenly, I find myself like Beavis snorting, “He said Bull Semen, huh, huh!”

  2. …huuh…..huuh….huuh……Kym typed ‘semen’.

    So my being tortured brings out the sinister side of Kym. I don’t know what to say other than I am touched. Truly touched.

    My work here done I retire to grandma’s dining room where I will smash my camera kit into many, many pieces. Hey Mike! Wanna new lens for that Canon Rebel?

  3. The only way I could promise not to laugh at you anymore is to quit reading your blog. I’m sorry, only a saint could give up the laughter.

  4. “Bitch and moan. Moan and bitch. That’s me. But that’s photography too, isn’t it? I mean, if it wasn’t would you be here, reading this crap? No! You’d be out taking pictures and posting them to Flickr and receiving comments of adoration from folks all across the globe. Instead, you’re here commiserating with me, aren’t you? Yep.”

    Huh. I manage to do all three… bitch and moan, take pics, and commiserating with you… not. So there!

    As for rabbits, well, they’re canny creatures. And, following your recent experience with birds you really shoulda known they’re not gonna be co-operative. Mother Nature and all that. (Hmm… dress up in a rabbit suit maybe?)

    No bull unmentionable substance extraction is definitiely the thing for you!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

