Sometimes “photography” is a four-letter word

I’ve had little to say of late, here at WP central.  Actually, I’ve been thinking an awful lot about photography as I have been looking over the web sites of many folks who are new to me via Flickr.  My current Flickr posse continues to post pics on an almost daily basis, but I confess to having done some tag surfing lately.  Just looking to explore what else is out there….what folks are doing….perhaps looking for some inspiration as I’ve felt rather uninspired of late.  This lack of inspiration comes from, no doubt, both the rather unpleasantly warm weather of late and my trip to my grandmother’s in Wisconsin.

As you probably know (if you read my last posting, and if you didn’t please don’t tell me as my ego is too fragile to handle such news) my trip to Wisconsin did not yield much in the way of results.  Not that I didn’t take lots of pics and not that I didn’t try and not that I don’t have plenty of pics of the family, but the things I tried to do that I was hoping would be interesting and/or artistic (I know…..perish the thought) were rubbish.  It was bad enough that I felt the urge to purge my equipment.

I imagine many photographers go through moments like this.  But I also imagine that many photographers have more success than do I and so these minor setbacks aren’t such a big deal in the great scheme of things for them.  But I really don’t want to ditch my equipment (sorry Mike!).  And I think the woe-is-me stage has truly passed since returning from Wisconsin and that it’s most likely the unpleasant weather that has me feeling blah about photography.  I guess I’m really waiting for fall and winter because I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE being outdoors when it’s cold.  Did I mention I love being outdoors when it’s cold?

Besides going through Flickr and looking at other folks work, I carefully went through the most recent issue of the magazine Interview (which my wife received as a free subscription) and critiqued the advertising images.  I’m thinking that I would like to take my musings and put them in print, so to speak, on WP.  I’ve always had a real interest in marketing, especially through advertising, and now that I’m more deeply involved in photography than I have ever been before I think it’s a good time to discuss what I’m seeing.  So look for that in the near (or not so near) future.  I know you’ll be biting your nails in anticipation.

I also confess that I have been looking over more and more Flickr sites whereby the photographer posts many self portraits and I’m wondering if I may do the same thing.  Not that I want to post tonnes of them, but I’m beginning to think I’d like to give it a try.  I really have no idea how to do it, but I think it would be something new and interesting to try and would be a great thing to do indoors during these unpleasant weeks/months of summer.  So look for this stuff possibly sprouting in the near, or not so near, future.

Finally, I don’t think I have a picture of myself anywhere in all this Flickr/WordPress mess.  Then again, no one around my house ever takes my picture.  Husbands don’t tend to exist in the world of family photos, do they?  We take pictures, we aren’t in pictures.  So here you go:  a self portrait taken at my grandmother’s, just a few weeks ago.

Me - Your Humble Narrator

Me - Your Humble Narrator

10 thoughts on “Sometimes “photography” is a four-letter word

  1. Pingback: Sometimes “photography” is a four-letter word

  2. I am daily stunned by the amount of pics people pt online. There is always something there for me.

    Thanks for being one who does.

  3. Vacation and artistic photography (or at least trying to) are the worst enemies I think. You either make too much photographs or too little, but in both cases most photographs are just crap. So, I need the cold too. Photography in the fall and winter is great.
    I only try to do selfportraits with the camera in front of me. And the biggest selfportrait you will see of me is my avacar :-). So you are a brave man!

Leave a Reply

