It Felt….. It Felt Good. Damn Good!

This morning while enjoying breakfast with my wife I suddenly thought “Holy shit! It has rained like crazy over the past two days. I wonder if the water fall at Charleston Falls Preserve is doing anything interesting?” Between loads of melting snow and over 2-inches of rain it occurred to me that the normally ‘dull’ waterfall might actually be a ‘real’ waterfall.

See… normally it looks like this (please forgive the rather heavy-handed post-processing effects):


(photo courtesy of my iPhone)

It is a pretty place, but not much of a waterfall to be frank. But what about after some serious rain? Well let’s just say it got a lot better!


(photo courtesy of my iPhone)

Now isn’t that better?

But the issue of the waterfall isn’t the real thrust of this posting. Nope. Instead, I guess this posting is, in a way, an extension of my last post regarding my attempt to get back into this photography game. Today’s adventure was a pleasure. A real pleasure.

My original intent was just to run out to Charleston Falls Preserve, see if the waterfall was more interesting photographically speaking, and if so snap some pics and come home to watch the inaugural Formula 1 race from Bahrain. As the above picture shows the waterfall was far more interesting than it has ever been before during any of my visits.

And so I puttered about snapping pictures from this position and that place and eventually found myself satisfied. Satisfied that I had done both what I wanted and needed (“need” being the need to get out and take some pictures again). But as I packed up my kit I thought “You know… I wonder if there are any other photographic treats in the park today?” After all it was perfect shooting weather in so many ways: 41-degrees Fahrenheit (5-degrees C), lightly misting, quite grey and overcast (soft, diffuse light with no shadows) and everything covered in water such that colours looked rich and dark. And so I took off on the trails in search of other valuable targets.

Now… I do not have any of the pictures from this excursion yet available as I haven’t yet gone through them. I’ve been busy since I got home. Sorry. But the tale is just as important in this instance because it was the simple act of getting out and enjoying myself that, in a manner, recharged my batteries for this hobby.

While out there I managed to nab a handful of pictures related to my first shooting assignment for my photography class and I spent about 30-minutes stalking a small herd of deer I chanced upon. Granted, the end result was a meager one photo for all the time I devoted, but let me tell you…. it was EXCITING!! Moving slowly and carefully with camera in hand I tracked them from the trail while they made their way through the woods, eventually leading me to a tall grass prairie where I managed my one picture. But the great thing is now that I know there are deer there AND I know a place where they congregate I can return one day (hopefully soon) and play the game of sit & wait in hopes of nabbing some additional pictures. (keep in mind I only got the one picture because I didn’t have my camera out and in hand when I chanced upon them – they were unexpected as I had never seen deer there before)

Of course, any great day must have its less-than-stellar moments, which for me was when I tried to snap some pics of the quite large vultures gliding in the grey skies above me. For whatever reason…. probably a brain fart or a bit of senility creeping in…. I turned my 70-200mm zoom lens to 70mm and began shooting wildly into the mid-March air. Wondering why the damn birds looked so far away in the viewfinder I put down the camera and took a quick glance at my settings where I discovered my 70mm boo-boo.

However, this very minor mistake is not going to ruin my otherwise perfect afternoon! Three hours of glorious hiking, stalking and photography more than compensate me for such stupidity.

5 thoughts on “It Felt….. It Felt Good. Damn Good!

  1. Agreed, though I wouldn’t cosider that stupidity. You were in your moment and enjoying the photo adventure. As long as you are happy in the end. But next time be aware of your settings, thats what separates good photographers from all the others, being aware of surroundings and your camera. This sort of reminds me when I think I am in auto focus but end up in manual and photos are blurred

  2. Being aware of one’s settings is always an important part of things. I only wish there were a way to see what mm setting my lens is at through the viewfinder. THAT would be a helpful feature.

  3. I’ve not been up to Pea Vine or any of the other falls we have around. Just haven’t had the time. I know water is pouring over our local falls, I’ve seen pictures one of my friends took a few weeks back.

    As far as your boo boo….do you not adjust while you are shooting? I am constantly adjusting everything. My hand is always on my lens. I do not like to use auto settings/focus; manual is the only way for me (of course my P&S is an exception) . I’ve played around with shutter and aperture priority but do not prefer either. I like to be in complete control…it’s the way I was taught.

    Hope you are enjoying your photography class. They are a lot of fun and can help in many ways. šŸ™‚

  4. Great pictures of the waterfall. I’m happy that you were able to share it with us. I can’t wait to see pictures of the deer. Sounded like a photo adventure!

  5. Thanks Maggie… I’m working on ploughing through all my photos and will be posting to Flickr soon.

    Tamela… I attempt to have my camera set in advance for what I anticipate I will be shooting, which works well for me because I’m usually shooting for something specific. However, the camera settings were all fine for the shot of the vultures… it was my goof to not have re-zoomed the lens back out to or towards 200mm. Just one too many things to remember in my feeble brain!

Leave a Reply

